How Talking to Strangers Saved my Well-being

JJ Sum
ILLUMINATION
Published in
5 min readApr 11, 2021

--

Parents and guardians strongly advise their young ones not to talk to strangers. It is even treated more like a law than advice. Which then would, later on, lead to uncoerced isolation, having an idea that it is unlikely to talk to strangers and that reaching out to someone unfamiliar is just…awkward. However, that should not be the case when children grow up because surprisingly, talking to strangers is important and beneficial.

“Strangers are the best people to talk to. They don’t judge.”

Photo by Gary Barnes from Pexels

Looking back to my old self, I used to have a totally different perception of socializing. It was totally burdensome for me to even say “hi” and I got easily offended whenever someone would just suddenly approach me.

In my college days, I was not a popular student and felt invisible to everyone. In my elementary years, I always received the “Most well behaved student of the year” award. 😂 That’s how SILENT I was.

So I had this belief system in me that there was only a little good in meeting new people or even saying “hello” back to someone who just said “hi” because what if they would judge me?

--

--

JJ Sum
ILLUMINATION

A wife, mom of 3, & a TEFL certified tutor. I write about Mothering, Family, Relationships, Remote work topics, and Trending matters.