How The Dune Books Differ From Villeneuve’s Movies

Changes in the timeline, characters, and further backstories

Sara Gómez Trillos
ILLUMINATION

--

The six original books from the Dune saga written by Frank Herbert | Photo by the author

The response to Denis Villeneuve’s Dune movies has been overwhelmingly positive. Dune: Part One, released in 2021, was the beginning of what promises to be a fantastic cinematic trilogy. Released just a month ago on February 29th, 2024, Dune: Part Two achieved an impressive 4.5 in Letterboxd, an 8.8 IMDb rating, and 93% on Rotten Tomatoes. As far as I can tell, most people have loved it and preferred it to the first.

As someone who’s read the books written by Frank Herbert in which they are based, I’ve gotten a lot of questions about my thoughts.

What is better, the books or the movies?”

I honestly feel like comparing books vs. movies on how good they are is a bit like comparing apples to french fries. They are simply different. While the movies may be better in some ways, the books are superior in others.

As someone who’s read the books written by Frank Herbert in which the Dune movies are based, I’ve gotten a lot of questions about my thoughts.

--

--

Sara Gómez Trillos
ILLUMINATION

Professional nerd working for health equity | Colecciono palabras que me encuentro por ahí. ✨