How to Be Fluent in the Language of Love

Change your mindset to become a better partner

Mathias Barra
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by JD Mason on Unsplash

Love is a mess.

Sometimes we think we understand what it means, but it slips through our fingers or hits us right in the face. Sometimes, we’re lost but it somehow feels easy.

Nobody has the final definition of what it means yet we all wish to discover it. It’s ugly and beautiful. It’s hurtful and feels good. It’s simple yet complicated.

It’s also a language and I love languages. I’m even fluent in a few. And I’m getting closer to fluency in the language of love as well. Why?

Because fluency in the language of love is as simple a process as for any other language.

Take your time

It took more than a decade to become fluent in my mother tongue. It then took me years of classes and one intensive year of TV shows to become fluent in English. It also took 10 years to become fluent in Japanese.

I started all those languages like everybody. Knowing nothing about them. Yet, with constant study and practice, I became better and eventually reached fluency in those.

How could you expect to speak the language of love if you’ve never experienced it before? Right. You can’t.

--

--

Mathias Barra
ILLUMINATION

French polyglot speaking 6 languages. Writer. Helping you learn languages. Get my new ebook → https://linktr.ee/MathiasBarra