How To Become More Patient In 3 Simple Steps

You can start today

Jon Svec
ILLUMINATION
2 min readMar 11, 2024

--

Photo by Matteo Vistocco on Unsplash

12 years ago I was a tightly-wound coach who made everything too complicated.

Today I try to focus on simplicity and patience.

Here are 3 mindset shifts that will help you put your energy in the right places.

Zoom Out

Perspective is everything.

I get to coach a game.

I get to work with young people who are passionate about the sport.

I get to come home to a wife and daughters who support me.

When you start from a place of gratitude, the score doesn’t matter.

You’ve already won.

Process Over Result

It’s all about the next practice, the next drill, the next rep.

Direct your energy towards the next thing.

Forget about the end result. Concentrate on the day-to-day tasks.

Then watch your progress skyrocket.

Focus On The Players

Our team’s performance has nothing to do with how much knowledge I have in my head. I’m not out there playing.

Keep things simple.

Make sure the players have a full understanding of the systems.

Eliminate confusion and your players will play fast.

Final Thought

These mindset shifts are simple, but not easy.

Start turning the dial today and see how your world changes over time.

--

--