How to Break the Chains of Your Limiting Beliefs and Live a Life of Freedom and Fulfillment

Peter Abdaal
ILLUMINATION
Published in
4 min readAug 28, 2023
Photo by John Salvino on Unsplash

We often accidentally and subconsciously hold ourselves back from seeking our biggest dreams and create limiting beliefs.

I want you to realize that everyone has a limiting belief that is holding them back. Where you are right now is probably the maximum of your potential.

Back in the day, I raised a Caucasian shepherd dog. Those dogs are massive, powerful, and have well-built bodies.

His name was Troy. I raised Troy when he was only 40 days old. I have spent so much time with him, feeding and training him, that he understands my commands and obeys what I am telling him to do.

I always took Troy on long walks from a young age, and many times I would tie the leash to a beach that I would sit on and have a rest.

When he was developing, he would often keep pulling the leash so hard to break himself and run after a cat, but over time he learned that I kept a strong hold on him and that the leash wouldn’t break no matter what he did.

As time went by, he grew in size and developed so much. His muscles got stronger and bigger; he was massive in size.

Photo by Reba Spike on Unsplash

When we went on our usual walks with each other, I knew that if he tried to pull me, He would be dragging me all over any place he would like to go with those massive, well-built muscles, but the thing is, he was trained from a young age that when the leash is on, he goes nowhere.

I could even tie the leash to a chair, and he would not even try to pull it.

Why do I share this story with you? Because I’m curious about you.

Was there a moment in your life when you gave up? Think about that for a second.

Some of you reading are 20 years old, and some of you are 40, 50, or 60 years old. Is there a moment in your life that you can remember when you just decided to stop trying?

Was it something that happened to you? Was it a negative person that influenced you? Was it your parents, your friends, or your teachers? Was it a failure, a rejection, or a heartbreak?

Was there a time when you put all your effort into something and it didn’t work out?

When did you give up?

Photo by Jackson Simmer on Unsplash

How long have you been stuck in your current comfort zone? Think about that for a second. How long have you been here? Ask yourself this question because it makes you look at yourself from an outside perspective and say, “Huh, how long have I been here?” And more often than not, people say that they have been here for too long.

They say that they are not happy with where they are. They say that they want to change, but they don’t know how.

Do you feel the same way?

You know that you’re in your comfort zone, and you’ve been there for a long time.

Are you going to stay there until you die? Many of us are holding ourselves back because of something that happened in the past, something that someone told us, or something that we feel.

We’re holding ourselves back because it’s easier not to try than to feel like a failure.

Can you relate to that? It’s easier not to go for something and have all our insecurities thrown in our faces.

How many of us are holding ourselves back because of what a parent, a teacher, a family member, a friend, or a cousin told us when we were young and impressionable? Most of us, and we took what they said and made it our TRUTH.

It’s time to break free from your comfort zone and your limiting beliefs. It’s time to realize how much you have developed, how powerful you are, and how much potential you have.

It’s time to live the life you want.

Photo by Riccardo Pitzalis on Unsplash

To not make it too long, in my next article, I’ll share some more tips on identifying and overcoming limiting beliefs so that you can break free from them.

If you liked this article, don’t forget to clap, comment, and follow my profile!

--

--

Peter Abdaal
ILLUMINATION

• 40+ Heavy Machinery Fleet Owner • Mission: Become a better writer, thinker, and entrepreneur • Making everything I learn instantly accessible to you