How to Build a Totally Free Website in 2 Hours on Mailchimp, by a Complete Novice

Brian E. Wish, PhD
ILLUMINATION
Published in
8 min readMay 14, 2020

--

Photo by Christopher Gower on Unsplash

Making a personal website to highlight my writing

Full disclosure, it was about 2 hours of work, interspersed with another 4 hours of flailing trying to make the thing do what I wanted it to do. Which it wouldn’t (did I mention it was FREE? Including a custom domain?). I’m going to save you that four hours of flailing and let you know how the website builder is structured and what it’s limitations are. My vanity project resulted in the following creation, brianewish.com:

Screen capture by Author

I can’t tell you that this is the best website in the world, or that it will do a whole lot at this point, but it is a lot more impressive than what I had before, which is zilch.

Deciding to take the plunge

I’m as computer savvy as the next guy, maybe even a little above average, but until now I’ve never published a website. Why would I want to? I finally dove in for three reasons:

  1. Convenience. I shared a few of my articles with friends at work, and they asked if I’d written anything else. Like most companies, the…

--

--

Brian E. Wish, PhD
ILLUMINATION

I do a lot of things. Some of them I even do well. But what I really want to do is share ideas. Check brianewish.com or https://www.linkedin.com/in/brianwish/