How to Create a New Year’s Resolution That Sticks

Your first mistake is calling it a New Year’s resolution

Ryan Porter
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Kylo on Unsplash

My New Year’s resolution is to remember everything about 2020 and to never take anything in my life for granted again.

Yep, I said it. I want to remember every detail of this past year. I want to take the lessons I’ve learned over the past nine months and engrave them into my brain.

Many of you probably want to forget 2020. You want to leave this year in the dust behind you. This year has been horrible, and it’s undone the lives of so many families.

What is a New Year’s resolution supposed to look like in 2021 anyway?

Things are shaping out to be a little different this year and I think my interpretation of resolutions will live on: they don’t work, and I’ll explain why.

Making a resolution is like making a promise without any consequences. What’s the worst that’ll happen if you don’t read two books every month in 2021? Probably nothing.

You’ll just feel bad about yourself for a little while but then move on with your life. “There’s always next year,” you’ll say as you mentally close the chapter on the resolution you said you’d fulfill.

--

--

Ryan Porter
ILLUMINATION

I’ve helped generate $20 million with video marketing. Now I help solopreneurs get more leads: https://videomarketingsecrets.carrd.co/