How to Create Video Thumbnails

An Adobe Express Tutorial

Cassie Ring
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by: Cassie Ring

You’ve started a YouTube channel. You filmed a video. You’ve spent 10+ hours editing the video. You are incredibly proud of your creation and upload it to your channel.

Crickets

In your analytics, you can see that YouTube is suggesting it to people, so why aren’t they watching?

Screenshot by: Cassie Ring

“Never judge a book by its cover.”

We’ve all heard it. Do we still judge book covers? Of course. People will judge your YouTube video (book) by its thumbnail (cover).

Let’s get you more views by creating an eye-catching and clickable thumbnail!

For my thumbnails, I use Adobe Express on my iPad Pro. From what I understand, you can use Canva similarly if you do not have an Adobe subscription.

Screenshot by: Cassie Ring

Step One: Create a New Project

--

--

Cassie Ring
ILLUMINATION

I’m just living my life with my husband, my dog, and my camera.