How to Find in Which Topics Your Medium Story Is Distributed

It’s easier than you think

Alice
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Jon Tyson on Unsplash

Lately, one of my articles got curated and distributed into three topics. I didn’t even realize that! Thankfully, Aimée Gramblin, one of the editors of Age of Empathy, left me a note notifying me about the good news.

How could I miss it? Lots of changes recently happened on Medium. One of them is the disappearing of the “Distributed by curators in” note we were once used to seeing under the story title. The topic tags also vanished from the stats page, and no email is sent to inform about the story distribution.

This is how it looked like in the past — Author

So, how can writers know where to find to which topics their story is now assigned?

Exploring the code behind your story

The first step to finding out which topic your story has been curated into is to open your Medium account on a Google Chrome page. Get to the piece distributed and select “View Story.”

Click on the three vertical dots on the top right corner of your browser page, select the “More tools” and then click on “Developer tools”.

--

--

Alice
ILLUMINATION

I write to share my passions and personal experiences. Follow me if you are curious about food, travel, money & human behavior.