How To Find Value In A Weakness

Getting rid of Blind Spots

Jon Svec
ILLUMINATION
1 min readMar 31, 2024

--

Photo by Kalen Emsley on Unsplash

I have a bunch of weaknesses as a coach. I’m trying to create more.

I’ll explain…

There’s a difference between a blind spot and a weakness.

With a blind spot, you’re unaware of what it is you don’t know.

These are dangerous.

When you have a lot of blind spots, you walk around with a false sense of confidence.

Why wouldn’t you? You’re oblivious to your own gaps in knowledge.

A weakness is different.

With a weakness, you’re aware of your shortcomings.

Once you identify a weakness, you can work to improve it.

As a football coach, a weakness can be valuable.

Throughout my coaching career, I can proudly say I’ve converted a few blind spots into weaknesses. A select few even ended up as strengths.

I like to think this means I’m moving in the right direction.

--

--