Photo by Nicole De Khors from Burst

How To Get Started With Strength Training

A practical guide for beginners.

Margaret's Reflections
8 min readJul 8, 2020

--

It can be intimidating to know where to start with strength training. There are countless exercises you can do and a wide variety of equipment to choose from. There are safety concerns to be aware of, new lingo to understand and multiple options for each body part.

But these shouldn’t stop you. As great as cardio is, strength training is a perfect complement to your sweat-filled sessions — and sometimes, it’s even better for your body.

I started exercising because I wanted the boys in my high school to stop calling me “fatty”.

Today, I exercise frequently, look a decade younger than I am and I have a lower percentage of body fat than when I started. That’s the beauty of working out- as long as you remain consistent; there are multiple benefits to be achieved.

Many people ask me how to maintain a fitness routine. I can summarize this entire article by saying: get adequate sleep, hydration and nutrition, switch up your program to avoid boredom and make sure you include strength training to your routine.

Before I go any further, I want to clarify: real results take time and persistence. Strength training will not get you a six-pack tomorrow. You won’t be able to follow a challenging routine at…

--

--

Margaret's Reflections
Curated Newsletters

Articles on my recovery journey after a toxic relationship. Here's what you need to know after leaving an abusive relationship: https://bit.ly/3Qd5973