How To Have Courage

Three lessons I learned about living dangerously

Mira Lucas
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Holly Mandarich on Unsplash

Courage: The Joy of Living Dangerously is one of my favorite books. Of all time.

It’s one of those books that I like to keep close at all times. I keep it on my desk or on my nightstand.

I take it with me in my bag, even when I’m not planning on reading it. I just like to have it with me as a casual reminder:

Be courageous.

For those of you who are not familiar with the book, The Joy of Living Dangerously is a collection of Osho’s thoughts on courage and fear.

I know that there’s some controversy surrounding Osho as a spiritual leader (especially after the Netflix documentary series Wild Wild Country, which I would also recommend watching if you haven’t already).

But no matter what your views on Osho, or on his spiritual movement are, I’d recommend this book to everyone.

According to the book cover:

Courage is not the absence of fear, says Osho. It is, rather, the total presence of fear, with the courage to face it. This book provides a bird’s-eye view of the whole terrain — where fears originate, how to understand them, and how to call on your inner strength to confront them.

In the process, Osho…

--

--

Mira Lucas
ILLUMINATION

Freelance journalist. I like cats, coffee, and equality. Editor at WAVE 4. Join Medium: https://miralucas.medium.com/membership