How to Heal the Root Causes Underlying Most Skin Issues

A personal story of discovering the hidden messages from my skin

Katie Critelli
ILLUMINATION

--

Why most the most effective skincare starts on the inside rather than the outside | Image used under license from New Africa on Shutterstock

I want to share a fundamental idea with you that it took me 10 years to learn:

Your skin is a mirror of your internal health.

If you are struggling with skin issues- whether acne, dull skin, or an inflammatory condition- your skin is not your enemy. As you learn to read what your skin reveals about your internal health, it can even become a guide to healing your body.

In this article, I’ll share my journey healing my skin and what it taught me about the three imbalances underlying most common skin issues.

From the Beginning

Growing up, I was an extremely sensitive child and no matter how hard I tried to hide it, my skin always gave me away.

It flushed bright red when I was embarrassed, turned pale and dull when I was stressed, and as soon as I hit puberty, it burst out in bright, red pimples.

Unlike many of my friends, the hormonal storm didn’t pass within a couple years. Instead, my skin got more and more irritated. In an effort to help, my Mom took me to a dermatologist who diagnosed me with a staph infection and prescribed doxycycline to clear it up…

--

--

Katie Critelli
ILLUMINATION

I help people discover more pleasure, joy, and vitality in life. Find me here: https://www.find-your-spark.com/