How To Lie Without Lying

A Guide To What It Means to Tell A “True Story”

James Taylor Foreman
ILLUMINATION

--

When I was a kid, my entire extended family lived in my house. I was the only child of my mother and father, but I had 5 half-siblings, all much older, all happily under one roof, helping to raise me. Aunts and uncles, cousins, and nephews all around, all the time. When I was 9, my parents got divorced. It was messy, and they still haven’t spoken to one another, 20 years later. None of those people were ever happy in the same room again.

Nostalgia, in the original sense, meant something like homesickness. Now, it seems to denote a sense of fondness for the past. Possibly because we have so much access to relics of the past-video games, TV shows, movies. All can be revisited as if no time has passed.

If I wanted to, I could watch the movies, read the books, and sing the songs I sung back then. Before the fall.

But of course, time has passed. What does it say about us when we can’t seem to get out from under the past?

The Purpose of Memory

@dslr_newb

What do you think is the reason, in evolutionary terms, we have memories?

--

--

James Taylor Foreman
ILLUMINATION

Reality is narrative and our only job is to make it beautiful. Subscribe to move me directly to your inbox --> https://www.taylorforeman.com/