How to Live a Life Full of Joy, Without Any Regrets?

The Nerds
ILLUMINATION
Published in
3 min readApr 2, 2024
Photo by Fuu J on Unsplash

Very well quote said by Mahatma Gandhi on life:

Live as if you were to die tomorrow, Learn as if you were to live forever.

In his one line, he gave the humanity a rule to live a life full of joy with no regrets, as I mentioned in the headline.

But, what happens is many of you, might not understand the essence of this quote or find it contradicting.

Because, when you answer to the question of “How would I have lived if I was to die tomorrow?”

Most of you might say: “I would have spent all the money I have right now, enjoy the luxuries of my life and do whatever you wanted to do all your life.”

But, if I ask you “How would you have lived if you’re to live forever?”

Now, most of you might say: “I would have learned as much as I could, earn a lot of money, enjoy my life, guide the humanity etc…”

But, doesn’t it sound contradicting?

Because how can enjoying and learning be done together?

Even I had this thought when I read this quote for the first time.

But, now as I have understood the essence of this quote, I would like to decode it for you as well…

Let’s decode the first line, first.

To live an enjoying life where you’ll die tomorrow and still have no regrets, what you need is : gratitude.

Live in your present moment and enjoy the moment….

Because you do really enjoy your life if you live in your present moment. How? Read these lines. You are going to know it.

“Never think hard about the PAST, it brings tears…”

“Don’t think more about the FUTURE, it brings fears…”

“Live this MOMENT with a smile, it brings cheers!”

When you show gratitude, you’re seeing the positive side of the things and if you even die tomorrow, you’ll feel as if you’ve done a lot in your life to rest peacefully. You will never regret anything as well as enjoy your life.

How you can show your gratitude?

Thank the God for giving you whatever it gave you. Thank yourself for learning a lot, becoming better, creating yourself better than you were yesterday…..

The second lesson you get from the first line is:

Don’t forget your family, friends and all other loved ones.

Because tell me, who will not like to spend time with them if you’re just going to die?

Obviously, nobody.

And, if you decode the next line, it’s all about becoming better, growing and learning.

And, if we mix these two things, what does it say?

  1. Grow, but don’t grow mindlessly. Grow by taking everybody else together.
  2. Always be thankful of what you have and live in the present moment.
  3. Learn a lot, you’re a student of life, you will never reach a point when you will not have anything more to learn about, so learn a lot…

--

--

The Nerds
ILLUMINATION

Hi, I'm a nerd. I'm passionate about self-improvement, tackling topper insecurities, and sharing my love for books.