How to Make a Profile Header Movie

An eye catching full motion underlay

Paul Coogan
ILLUMINATION

--

I noticed a profile header that was using a GIF to put a bit of motion in the header. It was eye-catching and left me wondering if the header could use the popular UI display of full-motion video as an underlay.

Screenshot of author’s full motion profile by the author

The Medium header specification states JPG, PNG, and GIF can be used for the header image with a recommended width of 1500 px in a 2:1 ratio. This is a bit difficult to obtain in a video where the top resolution is typically 1080px for full HD video. To my surprise, the lower resolution GIF I tried worked perfectly. The image may not be as crisp as would be desired for a still image but as a motion underlay it is very eye-catching.

Find or Create Your Video

I have a ton of video and will probably search through that later to really personalize the header. In the meantime, I was able to easily find drone footage on Pexels of a bridge on the Pacific Coast Highway I have traversed many times both physically and in my memories.

Video by Spencer Davis from Pexels

Edit the Video

--

--

Paul Coogan
ILLUMINATION

(he/him/his) Project Manager, Artist, and Data Visualization/Activist Geek