How To Make People Like You Instantly

Do This One Thing & See What Happens Next

Roy Selvaraj
ILLUMINATION
4 min readSep 9, 2021

--

Photo by Genessa Panainte on Unsplash

The lockdown disrupted my normal fitness schedule, and I stopped working out at home since it was getting boring, and it was also not a conducive environment for fitness training.

So as soon as they allowed the fitness clubs to open, I decided to enrol in a new gym to kick-start my routine fitness regime. I looked through a few online options, there was one I preferred, so I called the number on the web and went to check them out.

As I walked towards the venue, the person I was liaising with was just waiting outside the door looking out for me. I met her in the corridor, and she greeted me, and we proceeded inside.

The issue was I took an instant dislike for her. Firstly, I didn’t like her the moment I saw her outside, but I didn’t want to judge her. Next, as she went through her presentation, it was obvious she manipulated by using all the techniques she had learned from a course she attended or the book she read, to sell the membership to me. So I miss-matched her all the way and got out of the place as soon as I could.

Photo by Andy Kelly on Unsplash

Why do you have to create rapport

Before using all the techniques you have learned in the book to persuade someone to close a sale or to convince them of an idea, you have to build rapport. You are not dealing with robots, but emotional bundles. When you have rapport, people will be more open to listening to what you have to say, otherwise, they will shut themselves to you.

Have you ever wondered why you like a certain person and could not get on with another person in a similar situation? Do you know why you get along with someone or be smitten by a certain salesperson that instantly you hand out your credit card to the person with little hesitation? Whereas you are out of sync with another salesperson, and you want to be out of the door in minutes.

Would you like to create instant rapport with people you meet or deal with?

You would have heard people like people who are like themselves. There are reasons you get along with someone you have just met. According to behavioural studies, similarities between two persons help to forge rapport.

For example, if you share some commonalities with the person you are engaged with, such as similar race, ethnicity, language, hometown, same school, university, or support similar charitable cause, you can establish immediate rapport. However, there is one more thing that is more important than this if you want people to like you.

Photo by Alexis Brown on Unsplash

Take genuine interest in people

Become genuinely interested in people. There is one man who did it perfectly. He was my dad. Everyone takes a liking for him from the kids, professionals, local grocers to janitors. People liked him so much that even months after his death, people said what a nice man he was, and they missed him. He didn’t hand over tons of money and did nothing extraordinary. Why did people like him so much?

Whenever he met someone, he took great interest in them. He gave them deep eye contact and smiled at people, looking through their souls with love. He genuinely inquired about them and their families at the appropriate time.

He just took interest in people and became excited about their little achievements and things dear to them, be it their pets, children, or boyfriend.

The other one is my dog. He will walk towards strangers coyly wagging its tail and throws deep glances at them until they pet him. People usually cuddle him and greet him every time they see him outside.

I became the top salesperson in my real estate firm once. Everyone started asking me what skills I employed to close so many sales. The foremost thing I did was, I took a genuine interest in people. When you take interest in people and care for them, you don’t need to manipulate them.

Remember everyone has their dreams, they have their ups and downs as well as challenges. When people come to me looking to list or buy a property. I will usually find out more about them. In the cause of the conversation, I will discover a lot of things about them. If certain properties are not good for them, I will tell them what I feel. They usually become friends and I made a lot more transactions, which translated into income.

Photo by Iulia Mihailov on Unsplash

Attract people to you naturally

If you want to attract people to you just try to drop “I” for a moment. Take a genuine interest in the other person. Before using any other techniques just start with one and then see how people gravitate towards you.

The next time you meet someone, observe and use these skills to build rapport. You should be able to get along with people quite easily and it also helps you to get what you want naturally.

--

--