How To Move On When You Let Yourself Down At Work

When the benefit of hindsight helps you understand your mistakes, what can you do?

Julie van Maanen
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by cetteup on Unsplash

I’ve been a freelance for many years now, and this week, a client of mine ‘let me go’. I can’t help thinking that I let myself down.

She was right to let me go.

She hired me back in May to research and write a bunch of itineraries to launch her two, separate travel start-ups and later produce and price up ad-hoc travel itineraries when bespoke requests came in. She had an existing business working with small groups but wanted to expand.

I worked for her remotely, and though we got connected through a mutual friend in the business, we never met.

At the start, we spent time on the phone excitedly discussing her ideas and I was happy to be on board.

When the businesses launched in the summer, I worked through my family holiday to get the product launched more or less on time. I liaised with travel providers all over the world, setting up tours, booking hotels, and researching fabulous destinations and activities. I learned more about Bali, Bolivia, Guatemala and Fiji than I ever imagined I would.

--

--

Julie van Maanen
ILLUMINATION

Top writer in Parenting. Multi-lingual traveller, writer, learner, teacher. Raising my little girl in Cuba and Europe and cannot wait to show her the world.