How to Overcome Your Doubt & Try New Things

Our love of routine holds us back from adventure…

Rosa Diaz-Casal
ILLUMINATION
Published in
3 min readMay 21, 2024

--

Photo by the Author

Uncertainty is deeply rooted in each of us. We are creatures of habit.

I know I want to find the TV remote where I left it, I want to be guaranteed the paycheck comes in next month as it always does. I want to make sure my articles get readers.

We love novelty, but we don’t like the change it brings — it scares us. This is why we adopt routines and rituals, to avoid risks and surprises. Why do most of us have such a hard time trying new things?

I’ve found that the habit of trying new things every so often brings about better, and occasionally the best experiences.

The benefits of trying new things range from exciting to crucial. It’s going on a blind date, learning a new skill, moving to a new place, or testing the funny-looking cold soup with the peculiar name. Most of the time you end up kicking yourself for not trying it earlier.

When we are planning to eat out, we tend to think of local places we have been to or know about. You could go to a new city and try out a restaurant. You may end up knowing the city better and finding a less expensive and delightful place, hence improving your enjoyment of life.

--

--