How To Protect Yourself From Another Sociopath

It’s not just about learning how to spot one: it’s about understanding what it is about you that makes you so attractive to them.

--

Image created by author © Simon Whaley

*name changed at the request of the interviewee

“When someone suggested a friend I’d known for many years exhibited signs of having an antisocial personality disorder (ASPD) I felt naive and gullible,” says Brandon Greenwauld*, a 36-year-old accountant from the Mid-West.

“Why did others know about this stuff and I didn’t? My immediate thought was to take two practical steps: find out as much as I could about ASPDs, and then tell the world to avoid this person. Only now did I realize how much of my life he had controlled for so long.”

“The second step is what I did first and that was a mistake. You can’t tell the world to avoid someone. It’s not your place to. And doing so allows that person to continue controlling your life. So instead I began the research. After three months of reading books and websites, the last ten years of my life suddenly made sense.”

Blame game

Brandon smiles. “It was like a revelation. I felt great because I now understood the sociopathic character traits this man had exhibited, and how they…

--

--

Simon Whaley - Author | Writer | Photographer
ILLUMINATION

Bestselling author, writer and photographer. UK travel writer. Lives in the glorious Welsh Borders. Contact: https://www.simonwhaley.co.uk/contact-me/