How To Read 1,000 Books

Raza Hussain, MD, MBA
ILLUMINATION
Published in
4 min readMar 26, 2021

--

It’s not as hard as you think

Photo by Jon Tyson on Unsplash

I have always loved books going back to childhood. I would read anything by Dr. Seuss to the Ramona books by Beverly Cleary. I loved the way books smelled as a kid when you were in the public library. I love how the cover of a book can hook you as you walk by and make you turn back to pick it up.

Fast forward to college and I started buying books on a regular basis. I would make my bookshelf look pretty and make myself “look” very cultured. I felt like a genius and so sophisticated. There was one big problem. I would either never read the books I bought or never finish any book I started.

Then something magical happened. When I was 29 I was doing my medical residency training. I was working up to 100 hours per week sometimes. I had no free time, but needed a way to relax. I went to the public library to kill some time one afternoon and found a section with books on CD.

That was the beginning of my journey to reading over 1,000 books. I first checked out 1 book on CD. Then it turned into 5 at a time. I started going weekly. I “read” or rather listened to hundreds of books this way. I would just drive to and from work listening to books. I was hooked. It felt effortless.

I could tell I was getting smarter and seeing the world in a whole new way. I couldn’t go a day without…

--

--

Raza Hussain, MD, MBA
ILLUMINATION

Addiction Medicine Physician. Author. Featured in Shape Magazine.