READING | SELF IMPROVEMENT| LIFE LESSONS

How To Read When You Hate Reading

We read to know we’re not alone. ― William Nicholson

Sufyan Maan, M.Eng
ILLUMINATION
Published in
8 min readJul 25, 2024

--

Image via Vecteezy

I read one book per week. Let me quantify the process. I usually read non-fiction books.

Trust me; non-fiction books are hard to read because you often have to pause, absorb the information, or even look in Google or ChatGPT to understand the concept and then move ahead.

A non-fiction book is roughly 50,000 to 75,000 words long. A book page usually has 231 words, and the average human reading speed is 250 words per minute. Let’s do the simple math.

One hour reading (average reading speed) → 238*60 = 14280 words

Number of pages per book (average) → 75000/233 = 322 pages

An hour reading would cover → 14280/233 = 61 pages per hour

Average book size = 322/61 = 6 days

Credit: How many words per page are in a book on Amazon?

I do that every single day. I did not develop this habit within a day or a month. It’s a long process. I started reading merely one page a day.

--

--

Sufyan Maan, M.Eng
ILLUMINATION

Exploring my curiosity and sharing what I learn along the way. | Join my email list https://sufyanmaan.medium.com/subscribe