How to Reframe Your To-Do List as a Series of Opportunities

Maddie McGuire
ILLUMINATION
Published in
7 min readMar 10, 2021

--

My schedule has felt like a special prison this past year.

But like a prison in Norway. Where there are no conventional security devices and its prime focus is rehabilitation. But it’s still prison. Where you’re on borrowed time and you can’t leave.

I thought by only leaving the house once a week to go grocery shopping, I’d have started an Etsy shop of hand-painted organic dog bowls with all my free time by now. Or my self-care routine would be so on fleek I’d be as grounded and at peace as a Buddhist Monk.

When instead I’m sitting here wondering why it feels stressful to maintain washing my hair regularly.

And yes, I know we have the same amount of hours in a day as Beyonce or Meghan Markle. Or anyone else that has enough money to afford a private chef and someone to release statements on their behalf.

I have tried to re-structure my schedule to offer some sort of self-soothing effect as I move through my day. Where I smell the flowers and hear the birds chirp as I move through my to-do list with ease.

Every new structure I entertain will work for a few days if I’m lucky. And then life gets in the way. Mountains of unexpected and urgent to-dos make their way onto my list. I become frazzled in the newfound chaos and…

--

--

Maddie McGuire
ILLUMINATION

Certified coach, writer, and voice-over artist. Boxed wine aficionado. Email list: https://yougotyou.ck.page/f07cc31a95