How to Relieve from Anxiety During the Final Months of Lockdown

But unlike last time, I am frustrated because there is so much I look forward to doing

Patricia Young
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by United Nations COVID-19 Response on Unsplash

8 March 2021, we can see one friend outdoor here in England. So I went to meet my friend Sharon.

It was a windy day by the coast, but sitting on the peddles with a hot drink by my friend was precious. The wave was high and fierce, loud and covering our voices, which had to travel through the social distance.

I thought the swimming pool would open again at the end of March. Turned out, it was the middle of April. That seemed like forever.

12 April, coincidentally it was the same day as I was baptized in 2009.

This final countdown is making me nervous, but this is a little different from the last time when I was paralyzed at home with an anxiety disorder in London.

Lockdown with and without hope

What happened in September 2020 was extreme loneliness coupled with hopelessness. I was alone in London, missed my boyfriend in Brighton and my family in Hong Kong.

Hong Kong was going through its fourth wave at that point. If the veteran of epidemics (we have gone through SARS and various plaques) couldn’t…

--

--

Patricia Young
ILLUMINATION

Alternative ego for literary writer Priscilla Yeung. Life of a writer, hermit and traveller. For her 'serious' stuff: http://priscillayeung.com/