How To See The Positives In Getting Furloughed

I was angry at first, but then realized it was a blessing in disguise

Andy Lau, MBA
ILLUMINATION
4 min readJul 15, 2020

--

Photo by Andrea Piacquadio from Pexels

We all know that the economy is in a rough place due to Coronavirus. According to CNBC, approximately 50% of Americans lost their jobs.

My company announced a 15% salary reduction in March that lasted about one month. Thanks to a loan from the government, our salaries were reinstated early in April.

I thought that the worse was over and the remainder of the year would be smooth sailing. What else could go wrong?

However, June 30th hit, and that meant the end of the second quarter. Our parent company reviewed our financials and announced drastic cuts.

Everybody was shocked. We were all blindsided.

Not only were there layoffs, but those who remained are required to take 15 days off with no pay. Luckily, I did not get laid off but will have to take 15 days off in the next three months with no compensation.

Each employee is required to take five days off in July, five days off in August, and five days off in September.

15 days of no income? How will I pay my bills? The announcement came on Tuesday at 3 pm. So infuriated, I could barely finish the workday.

Throughout the week, I was still pretty upset. However, I didn’t realize my selfishness.

Today, I took a step back to reevaluate the opportunity. I started to realize the positives of the furlough.

Take A Break From All Of The Madness

It’s rare to be able to take time off. Although my company has an unlimited paid time off policy, I find myself rarely using it.

Yes, I do occasionally take Fridays off for short weekend getaways and longer vacations once a year. However, I feel that I do not fully take advantage of my company’s unlimited time off policy.

With the furlough days, we’re forced to take time off. What’s great is that we’re legally not allowed to work.

That means that I can actually take a break. I worked multiple jobs and internships throughout high school and college. I started working immediately after graduating from college. I’ve been working nonstop for the past ten years.

This is a great time for me to take a break from all of the madness.

Focus On My Health

Now that I get to take one week off each month for the next three months, I can focus on my mental and physical health.

In the past two years, I not only went to work every day but also studied for my MBA. This meant that after a long day of work, I either went to class or did coursework. I completed my program in early March right when Coronavirus hit.

Now that we’re required to take time off, I can finally let my mind relax. This is good for my mental health.

Moreover, I have been slacking on my physical exercise due to Coronavirus.

I know it’s a terrible excuse, but with the gyms closed, I have no motivation to work out at home. I can’t even get myself to go on a short run.

Now that we have five days off per month, I plan to use that time to get back in shape. It helps that my gym also reopened last month.

The time off will allow me to focus on both my mental and physical health.

Relax By The Pool

Due to Coronavirus, the pool at my apartment complex locked its doors for three months.

I walk by the pool every day to get to my car. For three months, I dreamt of hopping the fence to take a dip in the pool.

Crazy enough, our apartment complex opened back up the pool the day my company announced the furloughs.

Now that it’s summer, I cannot wait to have a drink by the pool. I cannot wait to swim and tan. I cannot wait to use the hot tub after a great workout.

I am very thankful that my apartment has a pool. I am very grateful that the timing of the reopening aligned perfectly with my furlough days.

Final Thoughts

Am I still upset that I got furloughed? No, I am not.

I am actually thankful for this opportunity.

It allowed me to take a step back from the hustle and bustle of my life. I plan to use that time to take a break, focus on my physical and mental health, and just relax.

Sure, I may lose a significant amount of income. But as cliche as it sounds, I know that money does not mean happiness.

I am excited to take this time off.

I was angry I got furloughed, but then realized it was a blessing in disguise.

--

--