Education | Life Lessons | Advice

How To Seek Guidance, When No One Seems To Guide You

“If people keep stepping on you, wear a pointy hat.” ― Joyce Rachelle

Riku Arikiri
ILLUMINATION
Published in
7 min readJul 3, 2020

--

The first day of college, exciting indeed. I bought my uniform as soon as I heard the news that I got accepted. So Pops thought it best, I would take the ongoing classes and get a feel of the environment and the system. Plus, it seemed a good thing for me to get a whiff of how college is like. I arrived early on time on my Campus, really happy searching for the class with a bright smile on my face. I made it to College!

Never did I ever imagine, I would make it to college not knowing that I would make it to the top schools in engineering. So I was stoked to see how it will play out, hoping for the best. The first class was perhaps about “Introduction to Programming Systems & Languages.” Something new perhaps, although I did learn Java when I was in the 6th grade a little bit when I was interested in making Flash games. So I had an idea of how it would be like, I was wrong.

The course I took was probably 5 weeks in and was talking about C++ Structures, which went over my head — Swoosh. I was confused, so I asked questions to which the instructor told me, that she will entertain the questions after her Lecture…

--

--

Riku Arikiri
ILLUMINATION

It’s never black or white. Sometimes there’s a bit of spicy red in there as well.