How to Set Yourself Up for Success: 8 Key Principles to Get What You Want Out of Life

#2 — Know yourself.

Melissa Chanthalangsy
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Nghia Le on Unsplash

If there’s one thing winners have in common, it’s that they know how to follow instructions.

At 18, I got hired on the spot when I followed instructions on the job application (by doing less work, mind you). I left a whole page blank, which impressed the manager since she asked me, “When can you start?”

Soon after, I was folding clothes, working the register, greeting people, and selling credit cards. This was retail.

Selling cards thrilled me. Managers pushed hard and recognized our work by publicly announcing every closed sale. This made me want to sell even more.

One day, my manager offered me a pro-tip on how to sell, and I repeated the wording till I nailed it verbatim.

Minutes later, I practiced on a customer.

“Would you like to save 15% on your purchase today by opening a credit card? The total will be $34 instead of $40, and I’ll just need your name, number, and email.”

After a successful transaction, my manager chuckled and said, “Maaaan, can we be friends? You’re gonna be a millionaire one day.”

--

--