How to Shatter These 3 Self-Limiting Beliefs That Are Holding You Back

Your belief system will impact the results you accomplish

Ken Green
ILLUMINATION

--

Image Credit: Getty Images

“The only thing that’s keeping you from getting what you want is the story you keep telling yourself.” — Tony Robbins

For as long as I can remember, I’ve always felt uncomfortable about sharing what I know, and I have often resisted contributing to a group discussion. While I can’t completely recall specific instances where I was ridiculed for answering questions incorrectly or for making contributions in a class discussion in my primary and secondary school days, I recall it was common practice for kids to ridicule other kids. I was involved in this and I was also a victim. We all participated in it. It was a fun thing to do, we thought at the time. A few times, we got in trouble for this, and other times, we escaped without punishment.

As a grew older and got more mature, I abstained from this childish behavior of ridiculing others in my later years in secondary school. However, I never really got over my own fear of sharing my knowledge or participating in class discussions. This continued throughout my university days and most of my work life in Corporate Nigeria and Corporate Canada. And I recall some of the reasons why:

  • I felt I did not know enough…

--

--

Ken Green
ILLUMINATION

Ken is a Chartered Professional Accountant practicing in Canada. He provides tax, personal, and business financial services. https://linktr.ee/KenGreenca