LIFE LESSONS

How to Start a Social Business — and What You’ll Learn in the Process

I share some of my personal experiences and life lessons as Co-Founder of Project Yemen, a social business

Hammad A. Khalid
ILLUMINATION
Published in
4 min readMar 9, 2021

--

Project Yemen logo courtesy of Author

Most people would prefer to spend the summer after their high school graduation taking a vacation, going somewhere nice, or at least relaxing with family and friends before heading off to college.

I was at my friend Murtaza Bambot’s house too that summer of 2013. But what I found myself doing wasn’t what your typical recent high school grad might be doing. Instead, I was learning how to make a Facebook and Twitter page for a business, and I was attending Atlanta Startup Village meetings where I would network with other startups in the Atlanta community.

I was learning how to start a social business. What is a “social business”, you may ask? It has no current single definition, but as my friend explained it to me that summer, it’s a term that was first coined by Nobel Peace Prize laureate Muhammad Yunus to describe a business whose purpose revolves around solving a social, economic, or environmental issue. This can be anything ranging from poverty, pollution, illness, or hunger.

--

--

Hammad A. Khalid
ILLUMINATION

Reader | Writer | Thinker | Lifelong Learner | Curated in Health, Startups, Writing, Productivity, TV & more