How To Stick To Your Morning Routine

Take the pressure off with this one simple trick.

Marianna Morais
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by bruce mars on Unsplash

As we all know by now, sticking to a morning routine can not only set your day up for success, but also your life.

Whether your ideal morning routine is 10 minutes or 3 hours long, it can be hard to make a habit out of it—to show up and complete it every morning. Trust me, i’ve experienced this myself.

At the beginning of every year or university semester I get this rush of motivation and ambition and create a new morning and evening routine. I’ve had to keep creating new ones because I would keep falling out of the habit after 2–4 weeks. That is until I incorporated this one simple trick; I created a morning routine menu.

A morning routine menu is the only way I have managed to maintain that same motivation, even after 4 weeks, and set myself up for success.

The concept is very simple; you just need to take all the tasks from your ideal morning routine and list them out. Then each morning, depending on your time and energy levels, you choose which task(s) you’d like to complete that morning.

Every day will be and feel so different that having a menu of tasks takes the pressure off having to do it all. And it doesn't matter if you complete 1, 3, or 10 things from your list…

--

--

Marianna Morais
ILLUMINATION

Business student living in the UK. Born in Brazil and have lived in The Cayman Islands and Miami, Florida. Twitter @mariannamoraiss