How to Strengthen Relationships With Your Mentors in Order to Create Total Empathy

Building a pleasant personality must be the lever to eliminate your biggest obstacles

Nuno Fabiao
ILLUMINATION

--

My grandfather was the first photographer from my hometown. So, as you can imagine, everybody knew him. He passed away in 2017 at 96 years old and had an extraordinary life.

Even today, people come to me talking about my grandfather. One of the last times, a woman from her 50s came to me and said that my grandfather was a true gentleman. Each time they saw each other, he was kind enough to gently lift his hat as a sign of respect and good manners.

My grandfather José always said to me: “Son, for you to be respected, you have to respect everyone.” In my hometown, before I start being known as a good basketball player, I was always associated with the great photographer.

José was not only the father of my father but also one of my best friends. He worked his ass and made a respectful career. The Mayer gave him the most prestigious award in the city. And the minister of culture from Portugal also came to my hometown to honor him.

We don’t use to see these kinds of gentlemen these days. Things today are much more impersonal. Cities get bigger and bigger and lose that…

--

--

Nuno Fabiao
ILLUMINATION

I write about Finance, Macro Economy, Innovation, and Crypto. Editor for The Price of Tomorrow, writer for The Startup, and DataDrivenInvestor.