How to Survive Loneliness

“Loneliness adds beauty to life. It puts a special burn on sunsets and makes night air smell better.” — Henry Rollins

Writer's Dream
ILLUMINATION
3 min readMar 10, 2024

--

What is loneliness?

When I don't have anyone to talk to.

It's how I define loneliness.

In my struggle to beat loneliness, I figured out ways to occupy my mind and feel good.

I have listed these tools below. I hope it will help you.

I started writing

Loneliness creates mind chatter that has no end. As a quick solution, I wrote everything that came to my mind.

After brain-dumping for about 10 minutes, my hand started hurting, and my brain relaxed magically.

I realized all my thoughts and fears were irrational.

Brain-dumping my thoughts led to writing articles that could help people solve their problems.

“And by the way, everything in life is writable about if you have the outgoing guts to do it, and the imagination to improvise. The worst enemy to creativity is self-doubt.”
Sylvia Plath, The Unabridged Journals of Sylvia Plath

I started working on my hobby

Writing led me to read the success stories of other writers.
It gave me hope of someday earning money through online writing.

When I started writing about two years ago, I questioned my ability to maintain daily writing habits alongside my day job.
Surprisingly, now I can publish 2–3 articles weekly and daily tweets.

It gives me hope to create a side hustle through online writing.
So, I spend my free time writing, even if it’s just a few lines.

I started reading

I was not an avid reader. I never like reading.

But writing has led me to want to read. It helps me to generate more writing ideas.

“Decide on one area in which you’d like to know more about or get better at.Read an hour a day on that topic, and in three months you’ll be an expert.” — Dr. Alan Zimmerman, a full-time professional speaker

It gives me perspectives on how other people solve their problems.
It takes me to a magical land.

Apart from writing, reading books has helped me in many ways.

  1. Improved focus and concentration
  2. Stress reduction
  3. Enhanced creativity
  4. Better sleep

Reading is a better option than useless mobile scrolling.

I fell in love with walking

I cannot tell you how walking clears my confused mind.
Many days, I used to feel directionless and demotivated. I could not figure out what was wrong.

I went for a walk.

Thirty minutes later, I emerged as a completely new person.
Don’t believe my words. You try it for yourself and see the magic of walking.

“Research shows that regular walking actually modifies your nervous system so much that you’ll experience a decrease in anger and hostility,” — Melina B. Jampolis, M.D., author of The Doctor on Demand Diet.

I have created many hobbies

I have made friends with hobbies. When I stayed with my parents, I never considered having any hobbies.

Now, when I am staying alone, I create a lot of hobbies that keep me busy, and I love them.

A few of them are -

  • Painting
  • Journaling
  • Cooking
  • Embroidery

Everyone should have a few hobbies that take them to their flow state.

You will never be alone again.

Final Takeaway

How to deal with loneliness?

  1. Start writing
  2. Connect with like-minded people on social media platforms
  3. Walk
  4. Include hobbies in your daily routine

Click here to get a free ebook on 10 ways to live an authentic life.

--

--