How to Train Stable Diffusion to Sketch in Your Style

Kirsten Currie
ILLUMINATION
Published in
8 min readOct 28, 2022

--

Even if coding is not your thing

Ai generated sketch of woman wearing glasses
Is it “real”?

In recent months, the internet has witnessed an explosive playground full AI-generated art experimentations. My trials included.

As we tinker with just the right natural language expressions to get our astronaut playing golf on the moon or try to recreate House of Dragon’s Princess Rhaenyra in MidJourney style, it seems that even our imaginations are unable to limit the delightful array of visual intoxication that keeps us hitting “generate”.

My personal interest stems from the desire to more quickly produce designs — specifically related to clothing. Many times I have found myself staring blankly at my new tablet sketch page trying to make the leap from getting what’s in my mind’s eye to materialize in sketch form.

It begged the question, how might we work with AI to generate work in a style matching our own?

I’d played around a bit with Open.Ai’s DallE but still found that more for sensational art rather than for iterative creation, so I decided to take a stab at using Stable Diffusion. You can quickly generate imagery using their online tool DreamStudio, but if you want more control over the art, you should install it onto your computer.

--

--