Writing

How to Write Daily Without Turning Into a Zombie❓

How to write daily when you have a full-time job?

The Part-Time Writer
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Avinash Kumar on Unsplash

“The only way to do great work is to love what you do. If you haven’t found it yet, keep looking. Don’t settle.”

— Steve Jobs

Writing daily while having a 9–5 job can be really exhausting. I know the struggle.

There were a gazillian times I came home from work tired and only wanting to sit on the couch to mindlessly binge watch my favorite TV shows.

Although I did want to become a content writer very badly, I couldn’t get myself to get up and write.

It took me two years before I found a way to write on a daily basis without burning out.

Here are some strategies you can use to save yourself so much painful time.

You don’t need to get up two hours before work

Most people will tell you to get up two hours before work to write. But what if you’re not a morning person like me? You need to find your own writing time sweet spot.

For me the best timing is in the evening after dinner and after taking some time to relax. That’s the time I’m most productive.

If you don’t know which moment suits you best, do some experiments. Find out on which part of the day you can be most focused and creative.

Photo by Mink Mingle on Unsplash

You don’t have to spend all your spare time on writing

Let writing be something you do naturally on a daily basis, like brushing your teeth or making your bed.

Spending 15–30 minutes a day should be enough. And whenever you feel like it, you can expand this time. Just don’t overdo it.

In the beginning you might be more eager to keep going on. Make sure to deliberately allow yourself to take the time. Don’t just mindlessly go on with it. The most important thing is to mindfully choose what you want to do with your spare time.

If you do this, you’ll be able to feel what you need on any given day. You’ll be able to tell if it’s too much and whether you need to spend some time on relaxing or even doing nothing for a while.

I find it helpful to have an evening ritual. I make a cup of tea, light a candle and sit down on my favorite spot of the couch.

By doing this I literally transition myself into writing mode without having to think about it.

Photo by Christian Chen on Unsplash

Don’t just go and sit down anywhere

I like to write in a quiet corner in my home. That’s where I thrive. I know this because I tried many different spaces. Now I don’t have to think about this anymore. I know what works and why should you stop a winning team?

If you have a spare room, turn it into your writing sanctuary where you can focus on your work. Go to a coffee shop. Or a park. Find out what works best for you.

“Read between the lines”

Not literally. But just like when you read a book and read between the lines, you can find time for writing in between your daily tasks. You shouldn’t underestimate the power of small pockets of time.

Use your commute, waiting periods, or even spare moments during your lunch break to write down ideas or work on your writing. I’ve written entire chapters of my book during my lunch break.

Let technology work for you

There are so many great tools and apps out there that can help you write more efficiently. I use writing software to organize my ideas, track my progress, and access resources. I also use a voice dictation app to capture my thoughts when I’m on the go.

Photo by Clem Onojeghuo on Unsplash

Don’t be afraid to experiment

Step outside your comfort zone and try different writing styles, genres, and techniques.

Trying new things can make you more creative, expands your horizons, and helps you discover your unique voice as a writer.

Make some mistakes deliberately, it doesn’t have to be perfect

Writing is a journey, not a destination. There will be times when you feel discouraged or stuck. But remember, it’s all part of the process. Don’t give up on your dreams.

Remember, the most important thing is to keep writing. Even if you can only write for a few minutes each day, that’s better than nothing. With dedication and perseverance, you can achieve your writing goals.

Final thoughts

I once had a writing mentor who told me that the best way to become a writer is to write every day, even if it’s just for 15 minutes. I took her advice to heart, and I’ve been writing every day since. And I’m finally starting to see my dreams come true.

One last thing: You should try to write in a different language. This can help you break out of your usual patterns and see things in a new light. I’ve been trying to write in Spanish, and it’s been a lot of fun.

--

--

The Part-Time Writer
ILLUMINATION

Helping you build an online writing career next to your 9-5 job. ✨