How You Can Overcome a Breakup

A few simple ways to move on from someone you thought was ‘the one’

Jade M.
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Garon Piceli from Pexels

A few years ago, I thought I’d found the one. He seemed sweet, kind, and he had goals. As time passed, I discovered he wasn’t the man I’d thought he was. I was unhappy, but I feel ashamed to admit that I hadn’t picked a winner. I knew we weren’t right for each other, but I couldn’t bring myself to end the relationship because I still loved him. When we eventually broke up, it hurt.

I, like many others before me, turned to the internet for help and advice. I found lots of advice, both good and bad, but I’ve decided to share what helped me the most throughout the difficult process.

Treat the breakup like it’s permanent.

We all know those couples who’ve broken up a million times only to get back together and go through the process again. Sometimes it works out for the best, but most of the time it doesn’t. While most of us will miss the relationship that we once had, it’s best to treat it like it’s permanent and start moving on.

There’s a reason you didn’t work out, and your relationship would be destined for failure if you got back together before you fixed those issues.

Block or delete their phone number

--

--

Jade M.
ILLUMINATION

Jade is a Louisiana based author who loves video games and usually writes about experiences she has. https://linktr.ee/jmcculloch120