Simon Have Nielsen
ILLUMINATION
Published in
1 min readNov 3, 2021

--

Humans are constantly exploring the boundaries put upon us, but at the same time we need the safety and comfort provided within them. Like a force pushing and pulling through which we develop as individuals and societies…

In the novel “The Tannhauser Gate” I explore this dynamic in a futuristic setting not far from now. It takes outset in recent groundbreaking discoveries, and their exploitation towards problems we are facing today.

If I had known the impact of the discoveries I made during those late nights at the Department of Psychology and the series of events it triggered, I’m not sure I would ever have published them. But back then, I was unaware of how it was going to unfold. I only worried about doing my research the best I could to increase my feeble chances in the unreasonable battle for tenure at the university.”

Link to Chapter 1 →

Futuristic dreamlike silouette of a person walking between building with neon lights from the windows towards a bright light in the horizon
Photo by Gremlin on iStock

--

--