I am finally back to doing what I love the most

sudeshna karkun
ILLUMINATION
Published in
3 min readAug 1, 2023

I am happy to be back on Medium after a long break. Unfortunately, I suffered from a mental block that prevented me from writing consistently. This condition made it difficult for me to express my thoughts in writing. As I write this, I still struggle with deciding what to write and how to articulate my ideas. I spent countless hours staring at my laptop screen, trying to understand if this was a normal phase. I have learned that many of my friends have also experienced this problem.

Poster created by the Author from Canva

Thus, finally, I realize, I am going through mental block syndrome.

Photo by Steve Johnson on Unsplash

So, what is a mental block?

A mental block is simply the brain drain that happens, or when the brain just doesn’t want to use any thoughts or actions. It is common among the race of humans. My colleagues and my friends who are in the writing profession have experienced the situation, However, I prefer to avoid delving into the scientific explanation for this occurrence.

My husband mentioned to me that you will lose many things if you don’t write like your creativity will go. At least write a few points. But how badly I tried I simply couldn't write. But I had a fair deal on many things like I could spend quality time with my son. We played a lot of board games, we read bedtime stories together.

Most importantly we laughed together.

Photo by Yuyang Liu on Unsplash

I read a few novels in the time frame that I allowed to myself. Redid the decoration of the house. I started focusing on my health; I managed to hit the 60 benchmark from 70!!

How hard I tried to sit with the laptop, I was zoned out for a good number of days. My writing wire had narrowed. Maybe my brain needed a break but finally, I am writing my recent experience.

I have read from many writers that the best time to write is between 4 am to 7 am, I tried that time as well as the nighttime when there is no hustle and bustle around or just note down whatever thought processes are coming into your mind.

Eventually, the saturation aspect emerged.

I feel like I am in a trance state when I am not in the mood to write or do anything. So many thought processes are going on in my mind at that time. Then I decide to hit my writing button again. So, I thought of this topic; I think for a good many days, I was simply imagining on what content to write.

At the end of the day, I think we should just remain happy in whatever we are doing. It doesn’t matter if the brain wants to take a nap for a short duration. We can route ourselves in some other activity.

Poster created by the Author from Canva.

Happiness and well-being are the new key to remaining happy.

--

--

sudeshna karkun
ILLUMINATION

Hello!!I am Sudeshna Karkun.I am an avid traveler, an enthusiastic blogger. I love to play with my dog and run in my free time .