I am Quitting

Why am I no longer posting every day?

Cameron Mueller
ILLUMINATION
4 min readMay 7, 2024

--

Photo by Patrick Fore on Unsplash

Nah, just kidding, but I am pivoting goals.

Up until April 29th, I had been writing and posing every single day since Jan 1st, 2024, which made 119 days of writing, or about one-third of a year. I started doing it to learn a new habit and work out some of my thoughts.

My writing was and still is nothing special; I have no inherent talent, Once in a while, I could string together a cohesive and compelling sentence, but the quality has never been something to write home about, hahaha!

However, doing something every day is probably the best way to learn a new habit that I have found. I am not an expert by any stretch of the imagination; in fact, I am a horrible procrastinator, bad at time management and prioritization, while maintaining an unhealthy amount of hubris, which often keeps me from wanting to learn anything. so when I say doing something every day to keep a streak going works for me, then maybe it will work for you, given that you are probably less broken than I am.

However, it got to a point that all new habit seekers wanted to get to, I got bored. If you are bored of something that was initially daunting, congratulations; you’ve leveled up. Have a gold star, a 1-up mushroom, sit by the campfire, and other game references that indicate you have progressed.

I realized that my challenge to myself had run its course and that I could either keep playing, humoring myself with my repetition while not growing in my ability, or I had to let my streak go. However, I do not want to be done writing, It has been very enjoyable-not the process but the results clarity of mind, a body of work to gleam off of: etc

So level one is complete; it is time to move on; and level 2 is about quality. Unfortunately, this article probably doesn’t reflect the spirit of level 2, but alas, it will be my goal to work on longer articles, editing, and stronger topics, with more references or links to mention tools, papers, or goods. I would also like to write about the gear I use for everyday carry and travel, as I have a huge passion for that space.

As it so happens, I have a name for this blog I have been writing for a third of a year; I call it the Koru Blog, A koru is the Maori name for a fiddlehead or unfurled fern, resembling and displaying the Fibonacci sequence and also meaning growth or new life. Hence, it is my wish to explore the hidden details that make up the essence and meaning of life while unfurling our potential and enjoying the inherent design that surrounds us every day, whether it be from nature or man.

Photo by Emme Kearns on Unsplash

I am also in the midst of a long journey of financial independence, exploring how to make a living by the work of my hand for the people who desire what I have to offer. This is an iterative and long process that will take a while for me to learn, but I will do my best to share my findings with all who are interested.

You can check out everything else I am doing here. And for anyone interested in actually sending me a handout, which I do not condone but will not refuse, go to my Ko-Fi account here and become a member or buy me a one-time coffee, as I do a lot of my work at my local cafe.

What gives me the most encouragement, however, is getting your comments and hearing about how I helped. My primary goal is to grow as a person, and my secondary goal is to help others, so if I have encouraged, helped, or assisted you in any way, telling me makes my day.

Being fully financially independent with a host of paying subscribers is the 2024 dream, and why not? That sounds great but I do not believe I have earned that in the slightest, I know I have so much more to offer and I will keep working at it.

So if you liked what you have read, you can read more here, or if you like leather goods, I also make that too, and I think it’s pretty neat.

Thanks for reading. Godspeed.

Originally published at https://korublog.substack.com.

--

--

Cameron Mueller
ILLUMINATION

Aspiring entrepreneur, Writer, leather worker, Vlogger, Podcast host and more, Follow long and give support here, https://linktr.ee/CameronMueller