PERSONAL

I Asked My Mom on Facebook What My Blood Type is

She called the FBI, CIA, and the NASA to make sure I’m okay.

Akos Peterbencze
ILLUMINATION
Published in
3 min readMay 20, 2020

--

My brother, Mom, and I a long time ago. Photo by the author.

I know what you’re thinking. What kind of an idiot doesn’t know his own blood type at the age of 30? Hear me out!

It came up in a casual conversation I was having with a friend, and the answer was on the tip of my tongue. But I couldn’t say it. I haven’t had to use this piece of information in more than ten years, so I totally forgot. I thought I quickly ask my Mom, so I messaged her, but it was pretty late at night, and she was sleeping already.

I went to bed, way too late as usual, and when I woke up, I had like five missed calls from my brother and my dad, and a bunch of anxious messages from my mom.

I immediately assumed that something serious happened to someone I love. Especially now, when every normal thing, a question, a message, or a missed call, can be interpreted in a wrong way. Our subconscious is so paranoid due to the pandemic that when we cough a little, we have to check our forehead, whether we have a temperature or not. Hypochondriacs, such as myself, are having a hard time these past few months.

Once I’ve read my messages in the morning, I replied to everyone and tried to find out what’s wrong. They were…

--

--

Akos Peterbencze
ILLUMINATION

Freelance Grinder. TV Freak. Film lover. Regular contributor at Paste Magazine. SUBSTACK: https://thescreen.substack.com/