I Changed My Medium Name

I knew I had to make some changes in order to become a stronger voice on this platform. Sometimes starting with a small change is what’s needed to find bigger successes.

Diana Thorland
ILLUMINATION
2 min readJun 26, 2022

--

Photo by Austin Kirk on Unsplash

Why?!

I don’t know what effect changing my user name will have on my account, but since I’m still pretty new to this platform, I figured now’s the time. Imagine having hundreds of confused followers seeing content from an account they don’t recognize. So I decided that it was now or never.

Why did I do it?

I did it because after having used a pen name for the last couple of months, I decided that it was not for me. Whenever I clicked into my profile, it was like looking into someone else’s account.

I didn’t even have a profile photo. I used a logo instead.

The logo was a rose, so I decided to rename myself “Rose”. Yeah, I know — original.

Living in the Shadows

Very soon I realized that the name didn’t fit me. I tried to stick with it because I had made the decision to stay in the shadows. But I’ve changed my mind since.

I did so because I wanted to be more serious about my writing. I wanted to be seen.

A faceless account named after a sweet-smelling rose, which is not my character, was not going to represent me as a writer nor as an individual. It was like putting on a disguise so that people don’t recognize me if I embrace myself.

Coming Out

My name is Diana. I may not be happy with my writing 100% of the time, but I’m still proud of it. That’s why I wanted to give my fellow writers and readers a little glimpse of myself.

I live in Canada and I recently graduated with a degree in media and writing. My dream is to become an entrepreneur and an author who reaches audiences from around the world.

I like sitcoms, picnics, and spending time with my lovely husband.

I used to write more dramatic and philosophical pieces, but recently I’ve been more interested in humour and satire. I’m still trying to find my voice, but I think I’m getting closer to it now than I’ve ever been.

My identity is not a blind fortress, a breastplate behind which I hide to cut myself off from others. It is this window which belongs only to me thanks to which I can discover the world.

— Alain de Benoist

--

--

Diana Thorland
ILLUMINATION

I’m a writer from Canada who enjoys all genres, currently exploring comedy. Other than writing, I love picnics, sitcoms, and my wonderful husband.