I Developed An Exercise Habit By Following James Clear’s Two-minute Rule. Here’s 3-ways You Can Do It.

Atomic habit is the best Actionable book that I ever read.

Ahmed Gadaken
ILLUMINATION
3 min readFeb 18, 2024

--

Last year I read the book four times and will read it more this year. The book is very applicable in the topic of habits and James made a good work on writing the book in straight forward. I have succeeded in building a regular exercising habit by following a simple rule that allowed me to overcome procrastination.

I am in the best shape of my life thanks to the 2-min rule.

James Clear Author of Atomic Habits

In the past I struggled to exercise regularly.

When I am at the peak of motivation I start training. But after a week of sweat and commitment, I would quit and it becomes harder to continue. I implemented the 2-min rule. The Two-Minute Rule states “When you start a new habit, it should take less than two minutes to do.” I just started showing up and at least doing 1–2 push ups, pushing myself to be consistent.

All you need is to show up and implement the 2-min rule.

Photo by Sabri Tuzcu on Unsplash

Here is three ways you can build any habit

Don’t start from 30-min

Photo by Clem Onojeghuo on Unsplash

“I have to train to read for at least 30 minutes.

Don’t fool yourself, when you are building a new habit it’s hard to do intense work and push yourself. The more important thing is consistency. Building commitment and discipline. As they always say “consistency beats intensity” after months of keeping the streak you will eventually be more self-disciplined, more committed and more dedicated.

Starting intensely will not make you better, consistency does.

The 2-min rule

Photo by Edgar Chaparro on Unsplash

No one has ever been born great.

The time will come when You can train 7 days a week or read 20–30 pages a day easily. First, the new habit should not be a challenge. People often think reading 1 page or doing 1 push up is so easy, so why shouldn’t they increase. But the point is not to do one thing. The point is to master the habit of showing up. The truth is, a habit must be established before it can be improved. If you can’t learn the basic skill of showing up, then you have little hope of mastering the finer details.

As James clear said “ You have to standardize before you can optimize”

Make consistency your number 1 priority

Photo by George Pagan III on Unsplash

In the first months of my fitness journey, my confidence reached over the roof.

I was feeling happy, not because I trained (of course it has its effect), but I felt like I was a disciplined person. Over time as you see the progress and feel confident it will lead you to a more productive path. But first master the show up part. And everything will fall behind.

Be more consistent, be more confident.

Ultimately, the message is clear: prioritise consistency, master the art of showing up, and let confidence and progress follow. The principles found in Atomic Habits serve as a timeless guide, emphazising the power of small actions in shaping transformative habits that endure for a long period of time.

--

--

Ahmed Gadaken
ILLUMINATION

A marine science student turned digital writer. I'm an active publisher on Medium and X. I write Insights; books, reading, note-taking & habit building.