I Don’t Have A Writing Game Plan

And that's a good thing

Words by Egypt
ILLUMINATION
2 min readMar 10, 2024

--

Photo by Jan Kahánek on Unsplash

If you’re reading my work for the first time, you probably don't know it, but I’m a niche-free writer. I write about all manner of things. Life lessons, personal narrative, poetry, reflections, mistakes made, and so forth. I write about the things that play in my mind at the moment.

The reason why is that strict formulas don’t sit well with me. I started writing on Medium to share more of my thoughts and ideas with others. To grow as a writer and poet, and to discover how much creative juice I have in me.

Not long after starting on this platform, I noticed a sludge of articles with all manner of great “tips” on excelling on Medium. For the most part, most of them are rehashed thoughts of other writers. The thing is I don’t want to have an overall game plan or strategy for writing here. This kills my creativity, and, makes writing more laborious.

“No plan is ever as useful as not having one.”―Marty Rubin

I want my writing to take me to unknown places. I want to shake my creative muscles alive and see where the muse takes me. I can’t do that while following a pre-determined overall writing game plan.

Another reason why I’ll take writing strategy advice with a pinch of salt is because I don’t want the writing process to become boring. I want to reduce friction in my creative process and enjoy the ride too.

How on earth am I supposed to connect with my inner writing voice, whilst laboring my conscious mind, with strategy and planning? It’s gonna make the whole thing a creative nightmare. I want none of that

I might not be the greatest writer on here, and you bet I have lingering imposter syndrome. Still, I’m feeling the fear and doing it anyway.

I’m choosing to focus more of my energy on writing from my heart and taking positive action. Rather than endless researching and advice-hoarding of the best writing game plan or Medium hacking strategy.

“Plans are for people who choose to limit their options.”―Bogdan Vaida

Because so much unfolds when one simply sits toosh-to-seat and gets on with it. No game planning is needed. Just good old writing sprinkled with gentle discipline.

--

--

Words by Egypt
ILLUMINATION

Essayist, Poet, and Writer. Dancing at the intersection of words and thoughts. https://ko-fi.com/wordsbyegypt