I don’t mean to complain, but…

Skye Nicholson
ILLUMINATION
Published in
5 min readNov 25, 2020

--

Photo by Santiago Lacarta on Unsplash

So this is some of my latest inner dialogue:
“ELearning is haaarrrrd! I don’t want to do this anymore.”
“I wish I could see my family for the holidays… I miss them.”
“I’m lonely. And bored. And frustrated. By everything!!”
“This suuuuucks. When will life return to normal?!”

I’m sorry guys; I don’t want to sound like I’m complaining. I know I don’t really have it that bad, and that there are other people dealing with much more difficult circumstances right now.

Eckhart Tolle reminds us that complaining is one of the ego’s greatest tricks to keep us from being present. He writes in A New Earth, “Every complaint is a little story the mind makes up that you completely believe in. Whether you complain aloud or only in thought makes no difference…The implication is always: This should not be happening; I don’t want to be here; I don’t want to be doing this; I’m being treated unfairly.”

Yeah, yeah, I hear these implications in my inner dialogue. I hear the whiny tone, the resentment of having to deal with these inconveniences life has been throwing at me ( at all of us).

But, come on, Eckhart, I am only human! I have emotions and sometimes my ego is steering the ship. And these Covid times are full of unprecedented…

--

--

Skye Nicholson
ILLUMINATION

Woman, mom, teacher, writer, unicorn-lover, tree-hugger, magic-seeker, fox spirit, crier, human. Writing about life: my years of drinking and my awakening.