I earned $6.19 on Medium

Leah-Ashley McCauley
ILLUMINATION
Published in
3 min readFeb 16, 2022

--

Finally more than a quarter

Photo by Vlada Karpovich from Pexels

When I joined Medium in July of 2020 I had high hopes of becoming a top writer. I created a goal of publishing three articles a day for at least six days a week. Every day I could be doing what I loved, writing, while simultaneously making a living. Joining their Partner Program would bring forth my dream of working from anywhere and still making a sustainable living. Easy right? All I have to do is create and hit publish.

I have been part of Medium’s partner program for a little over a year. If I base my success on my own goal I have only completed three days’ worth of writing. Nine articles to date with a tenth in the process of being published. During this time, I would have a random burst of inspiration. Decide that I wanted to achieve the goal I had previously set, only to start the process of writing and count myself out in frustration. I’d struggle with feelings of imposter syndrome where I talk myself out of being the writer I know that I can be. Despite this, I tried to remain positive telling myself that I was still a paid writer because I had readers that enjoyed my work enough for me to make a literal dime.

I knew that I couldn’t live off of pennies per month. I didn’t sign up for that, and like most of my fellow writers, I wanted to be great. I knew the reasoning behind my lack of an audience and payment was…

--

--

Leah-Ashley McCauley
ILLUMINATION

Self-Published Author • Storyteller • Reader • Poet •