I Earned My First $100 in January So How Can You Do It?

Review of 4 articles that helped me earn my first $100 in medium

Bensu Cangüler
ILLUMINATION
Published in
8 min readFeb 17, 2021

--

Photo by Christina @ wocintechchat.com on Unsplash

When I started writing in medium 8 months ago, I told myself that even if I earned a single dollar, I would consider it a success. I was excited. One of the first things I learned when I entered the platform was that the rate of writers earning over $100 was very low. Although this situation scares me a little, I earned $100 from the medium as the first goal for myself. Getting into this small writer community could have been an important turning point in my writing career.

I posted 6 posts in the first month and earned just $2. I have to admit that I am a bit of a lazy and instinctive writer. I always take the care to write, but for publishing I get stuck. This situation stems from the perfectionist character that I am trying to overcome. Although writing every day is also a strong challenge, I only realized after 3 months that my identity as a writer did not improve when I did not publish them.

I know you’re tired of monthly earnings sharing. But I think these articles are not just about earning, but about learning. I love the articles where successful writers on medium describe what works for them. It offers me more suggestions to activate my potential. I apply the suggestions that…

--

--

Bensu Cangüler
ILLUMINATION

Journalism degree writer, Part-time explorer Lifetime learner. Korean and Japanese Culture enthusiast. + more https://linktr.ee/Bensucang