I Evolved and Found Happiness in the Simple Pleasures

Donnie Van Meer
ILLUMINATION
Published in
3 min readDec 18, 2023

--

Happiness begins when I appreciate what I already have.

Photo by Erik van Dijk on Unsplash

I’m sitting at the window enjoying my early morning cup of coffee.

The sun dissolves a morning mist, revealing the forms of a peaceful landscape. I watch as the world around me wakes up. A wave of satisfaction sweeps over me.

I savor the moment.

In my 60s, I savor the simple pleasure of life like never before. Is this the result of wisdom accumulated over the years? Or is it a regular part of the aging process?

When I was younger, I tended to overlook the simple pleasures.

I had big ideas.

I was pursuing big dreams.

I was grabbing at shiny objects that danced in front of my face.

I didn’t have time for anything else.

As I reflect on what kind of person my younger self was, I see how different I am now. Here are a few of the differences I have noticed.

Photo by Greg Rosenke on Unsplash

1. My younger self was searching for the meaning of life.

--

--