I Fell In Love With Someone I Met Online

Do cyber relationships work?

Esther George
ILLUMINATION

--

Cyberspace has opened a whole new door in the world of dating and relationships. While the debate about online infidelity rages, I approach this from a different direction. I more than fairly categorize my experience as a virtual connection rather than an affair.

What is it about cyber relationships that make them so attractive? Just like any other woman, if I’m going on an actual date, I would usually dress to impress. But an online date requires none of that hassle. I only have to prepare to respond intellectually — to share my personality through the exchange of thoughts, feelings, and words. Express to impress. Whether feelings and thoughts can adequately establish a real love relationship really depends on what I expect out of that connection.

I would say that a person’s intellectual capacity plays a significant role in this aspect. There’s something about two people exchanging intelligent conversations in a nonrestrictive manner that would otherwise be difficult in an offline relationship. That turns me on. This two-way-street, in which the woman may freely express all aspects of herself, whether or not heteronormative, divinely feminine, or divinely masculine, is uncommon in the patriarchal society where I reside.

--

--

Esther George
ILLUMINATION

Writer • Dreamer • Storyteller • She writes about discovering and living your best life now because life is truly what you make it.