I followed lots of plans, but all were in vain except this….

Try following this plan and you will see the difference…

Karim Mohamed
ILLUMINATION
6 min readMar 11, 2024

--

Image by Hanna Morris on Unsplash

I believe in attempts and each attempt means a lesson we get at the end of the situation. I was the one changing and making a daily plan to check which one would fit most, but all were in vain. I remember having a pen and a paper wanting to achieve 10 things at the same time and later felt frustrated as to why I couldn’t achieve these things.

Once I heard someone talking about money, I would consider his words my future goal and started searching for information about the topic. Imagine listening to 10 people talking about money on social media daily. Most of us nowadays are looking for money and it’s OK if you know well how to get money, but most people can’t get it easily thanks to their mentalities or the too many plans they daily make.

The reason behind this was superficiality, meaning, I wanted to plan in the morning and reap in the evening until I found out that I was completely distracted and thoughtless.

Because the world economy is in deep recession, scammers quite know that you keep seeking money and therefore, they create fake ideas to grab your attention, then you end up reaching nothing. Their benefits are they get paid for having your attention.

You are allowed to steal my plan! ::D

What I need you to do now is ethically steal my plan and try to implement it. This is the only plan that has worked after trying many and remember that the more experiences you learn from, the more seasoned you become.

Don’t skip it by saying that you have been trying so many attempts and all haven’t worked. Try following my advice and consider it one of your attempts.

#Write one clear goal… ONLY ONE

Stand up, get a pen and paper, write one realistic goal and it’s OK later to get subsidiary aims of it. What makes you distracted is when you have a desire to get it all done straight without struggle. Have a clear goal to work on because specializing in only one thing expects you to make it perfect without getting sidetracked.

#Work on your delayed gratification

For example, imagine going on a diet and you’re at a party. You are offered a lovely dessert, but you want to stick to your guns. If you give up and start eating it, you will be likely to eat more and then give up your diet, feeling down thanks to what you did. However, if you resist, you’ll receive an even bigger reward down the line which is improvement in your health. Your resistance is the ability to delay gratification to achieve long-term goals that will last, compared to short-term ones.

Having a clear vision and setting realistic deadlines are two factors that could help boost your delayed gratification. Besides, avoiding distraction, staying self-motivated, and having a strong connection with why the goal is important are key examples of delaying gratification in favor of long-term achievement.

#Reach your goals through stations…

What I believe in is a clear goal is better than many easy goals. Reading about what you want to do is an important step for better consequences. It’s always better if you define your goal’s stations. For instance, a train stops at a station loading passengers and having passengers leave. This is what your goal looks like. Your goal should have stations to reach and stop at in order to analyze, take a break, fill up with fuel and then move in order to reach the next station. Chasing a mirage without knowing where you are is your first step to giving up. In reality, one should write about their goal, divide it into stations and each station has to be analyzed, and finally move to another opportunity of achieving the full one.

#Maintain continuity….

How many of us stop moving forward toward goals? Not a lot but most of us. Why?

  • Lack of motivation: I keep asking myself this question, “Why do we always set goals we are not passionate about?” And that’s it.
  • Lack of clarity: Goals that have no clear path can’t be achieved. Sometimes people are not clear with their goals, leading them to achieve nothing because a path that has no end will lead to also no end. Remember this.
  • Failure: Failing to achieve something is the first step to success. When you try, at least you will get a lesson, but when you never try, everything will remain as it is. Imagine having a pen on a table. if you don’t touch it, it will remain stationary. Try moving the table and you will see that it begins to move back and forth. This is simply you when you try and don’t have any attempts. We need to try to free ourselves from serenity.

#Taking a responsibility

I remember calling my friend once, a software programmer who has his own business, and telling him that we need to have dinner out. He simply replied, “Sorry, I am committed to doing my job.” I was angry a little bit since I had offered him his favorite meal which would be on me; besides, a free cinema ticket to enjoy one of our favorite movies back then. After meeting him later, he explained that although he was reluctant to complete his tasks that day, he was committed to doing them. Sometimes, we feel reluctant to pursue goals, having a sense of frustration. This is human by nature, but what makes me always motivated is what I mentioned earlier which is delayed gratification. My friend didn’t stop to have a meal out with me, but he worked on his delayed gratification to reward himself later — his own successful business.

#Test yourself

Testing yourself is a must if you want to evaluate your progress on your goal or even your knowledge. You can get someone to ask you random questions about your steps towards your goal. The internet has many practical solutions such as online quizzes, flashcards, and so on.

I always think about what I could do differently next time better than this time to have one step forward to my goal. This sometimes leads me to some new and different areas to work on, which improves my vision and unlocks some new features of me.

I believe that testing myself regularly adds value for learning and growth. One should track their progress over time to know at which station of reaching a goal they are.

#Focus on the chunks of your long-term goal..

At every station of reaching your ultimate goal, always focus on the station itself not the final destination. People who reach a specific station always ask about how many stations are there to reach the destination. When reaching a station and the train stops for minutes, passengers always talk about the station they are at, describe the station, or talk about their experience if they have had there. When you are in the process of reaching your ultimate goal, focus on your current station which will lead you to the final one. Imagine having a painting on a shelf, and you want to go up the ladder to get it. if each step isn’t solid, you might fall because you didn’t make sure that you had stood on something concrete, focusing only on the big goal to reach which is the painting. So, focusing on the chunks and studying them very well will lead you to your big goal.

Thanks for reading and hope it works.

I know that a million claps are waiting for me….. :D :D :D KIDDING :)

--

--

Karim Mohamed
ILLUMINATION

"Live every moment as if it's the last moment you have. Live with faith, hope, love, and appreciate your valuable life," Dr. Ibrahim Al-Faqi.