I followed these tips to earn money through my content

Bhashwati DebBarma
ILLUMINATION
Published in
3 min readOct 26, 2022
Photo by Georgie Cobbs on Unsplash

I like learning from my juniors and colleagues more than seniors because it keeps me moving.

Similarly, I was overwhelmed when I got into this writing field, knowing I could also earn. With every passing day, I am trying to be better than yesterday, and here, I would consider writers of the same boat who helped me a lot.

The Pro-Writers, (I would like to call them) OP (Overpowered) in gaming terms are always there to inspire me when I lose track.

Here, I am sharing three tips/ experiences/ or anything you want to name.

I have been applying for a year, and I must say, it helped me understand writing as a career choice. However, I am not a full-time writer. More like a writer in the process.

a. Communication skills- This is one of the most heard skills when someone asks about your strengths. I might not be very good at it, but yes, my profession is a healthcare provider, where I need to do a lot of counselling besides treating my clients, which means I need to hit the pain points and talk, which helped me in freelancing.

The first thing to keep in mind is you bear most of the answers to their queries, even if it is just a word. Now, you might think, what if a few doubts are out of your league? That is so normal. We are not wikis, after all.

Do not Panic!

In that case, you need to express your concern regarding the topic and let your client elaborate on it in a simpler term.

A hint will be enough for you to grab the topic. If not, No worries! We all know where to look for it.

b. Content ideas- Youtube, Pro-writers (the OPs), Google, etc. will tell you to go through many websites that give you a lot of content ideas with a few keywords in your mind. Yes, that helps, of course.

But, I found Quora, Reddit, and FAQs available on Google more useful. The questions are more realistic and public-centric.

You really can answer those queries which the public wants. Your audience wants (I leave choosing the audience to you.)

So, good queries are equal to good content. Simple!

c. Dared to say no- I started writing with topics like — The top 10 strongest female Marvel characters, Loki being younger or the same age as Thor, Decoding iPhone analytics, etc. I was open to general content.

But, I was struggling a lot with these topics since I have never been fond of these outlines, and, most importantly, I wasn't enjoying them.

Since then, I stopped pitching to every ‘content writer requirement’ post.

I started picking up projects similar to my niche.

‘Health and Wellness.’

But I always encourage people who go out of the box and try different niches. That gives a brief of your expertise.

Lastly, even though I was out of any project, I dared to say NO to those clients who were not willing to pay me more than a peanut.

As a part-time freelancer, I am not earning many figures, but I know my worth and making through something I enjoy.

Read, Enjoy, Write and Earn.

Thanks for Reading!

--

--

Bhashwati DebBarma
ILLUMINATION

Juggling with Thoughts and expressing in Words| General or Lame or Informative