I Fought Back Tears While Visiting Hiroshima

Noah Q
ILLUMINATION
Published in
4 min readOct 18, 2023
Atomic Bomb Dome. Image taken by author.

During my solo trip to Japan in 2023, I decided to take a day trip to Hiroshima. As I sat quietly on the Shinkansen Bullet Train, I found myself thinking about the events that transpired in Japan during World War II.

August 6th, 1945 is a date that will never be forgotten by the Japanese. The Enola Gay, flown by U.S. soldier Colonel Paul Tibbetts, dropped the “Little Boy” atomic bomb onto Hiroshima, resulting in over 100,000 deaths.

While Hiroshima is widely known for being the first city to be ravaged by a nuclear bomb, it has since reinvented itself into an eclectic metropolis of over 1 million inhabitants.

Upon exiting Hiroshima Station, I couldn’t help but notice the modern buildings, clean and bustling streets, hoards of tourists, and large green spaces. It’s hard to believe that this thriving city was once a scene of apocalyptic devastation.

The Hiroshima Peace Memorial Museum

Peace Memorial Museum. Image taken by author.

After eating lunch at a gyudon restaurant, I made my way to the Peace Memorial Museum. I first walked through this hallway depicting images of what Hiroshima looked like before the bombing. Among the images was a class photo of beaming high school students. It broke my heart knowing that most of these innocent teenagers were likely killed in the blast.

I then walked into a room that showcased the personal belongings of some of the victims such as a burnt tricycle, tattered clothing, a watch that stopped right when the bomb hit, and a child’s burnt lunch. I fought back tears knowing that a poor, innocent boy didn’t even get to eat the food his mother packed for him.

Peace Memorial Museum. Image taken by author.

In another room, I saw harrowing images of burnt bodies, people dying from radiation exposure, and ravaged buildings. Plastered on the walls were some of the agonizing screams of dying locals.

“Help! Mother!”

“I don’t want to die…”

“My son, where are you?”

“I am sorry I cannot save you”

I felt a wave of overwhelming sadness when I realized that every single victim all cried out from the depths of their heart. I could not even begin to imagine the excruciating pain and heartache they were going through.

Despite the museum being at near max capacity, it was hauntingly quiet and the atmosphere was somber. All I could hear were the sad murmurs of visitors, and people sniffling and crying.

I cried when I read the story of Sadako Sasaki, a girl best known for folding 1000 paper cranes after being inspired by a Japanese legend that doing so would grant the user one wish. Her only wish was to be healthy and to live a long life. She tragically died of leukemia at the age of 12 in 1955.

The Peace Memorial Park

Memorial Cenotaph. Image taken by author.

After visiting the museum, I made my way to the Peace Memorial Park. I first visited the Memorial Cenotaph, which holds the names of the victims, as well as an epitaph that reads, “ Rest in peace, for we/they will not repeat this error”. I bowed my head and stood in silence for a brief period.

I then visited the Children’s Peace Monument, which honours Sadako Sasaki and the thousands of innocent children killed in the bombing. I admired the statue of Sadako holding a giant paper crane, as well as the thousands of origami cranes that visitors left on site. Despite her death, I felt proud that she continues to be remembered over 75 years later.

I continued to walk around the Memorial Park, making brief stops at various sites including the “Peace Pond” and the Rest House. The entire park was eerily quiet despite being packed with tourists. The atmosphere was solemn but respectful. I felt calm and at peace, which is what Hiroshima has been promoting since the end of the Second World War.

The Atomic Bomb Dome

Atomic Bomb Dome. Image taken by author.

The most memorable moment of my day trip was visiting the Genbaku Dome, the only structure left standing in the area where the bomb detonated. I stood in awe feeling completely mesmerized at the fact that this structure wasn’t destroyed. The dome was left carefully preserved to serve as a symbol of world peace and to highlight the calamitous capabilities of nuclear weapons.

I spent the rest of the day visiting Hiroshima Castle, wandering through Hondori Street, and eating Yakisoba at Okonomimura.

Being able to learn about the nuclear bombing of this city, and to walk the very same spot where the bomb detonated was an intense, but moving experience. Above all, witnessing the resiliency and forgiving nature of the Japanese is something to be admired. While I did feel distressed and emotional at times, visiting this city was definitely the most memorable and impactful moment of my trip.

--

--

Noah Q
ILLUMINATION

Canadian focusing on minimalism, frugal living and solo travel. A college prof once told me my writing is “really good”, so here I am